Recommended Creams

Before going further, I want to reassure you.


By conducting a bit of your own research, you’ll find a lot of information about cloth diapers and creams. The purpose of this text is to enlighten you and not to confuse you! Baby may not need any cream at all, and in this case, I advise you not to put anything at all!

On the other hand, some children need a cream to get rid of diaper rash.

COMPATIBLE CREAMS

white clay, cornstarch, coconut oil and oleo-calcareous liniment

COMPATIBLE CREAMS WITH ZINC

Zinc oxide in small quantities yes, but with a liner

NON-COMPATIBLE CREAMS

Petrolatum (petroleum jelly), Mineral oil, Cod liver oil, Paraffin and certain waxes and clay (which may stain)

COMPATIBLE CREAMS

white clay, cornstarch, coconut oil and oleo-calcareous liniment

A cream that is “compatible” with cloth diapers means that it will not affect its absorption and effectiveness. Some creams contain ingredients that can seal fabrics and cause various problems, including leaks and odor problems. You will find a list of recommended creams at the bottom of this text. As our list is not exhaustive, given the quantity of creams available on the market, we want to help you make informed choices.

ZINC COMPATIBLE CREAMS

Zinc oxide in small quantities yes, but with a liner.

Zinc oxide creates a barrier against moisture (just like coconut oil) and can be very effective against diaper rash. However, since zinc tends to stain, it is necessary to use aliner or sheet to make sure you protect your diaper. In addition, a large majority of zinc-based creams also contain ingredients that can cause problems.

NON-COMPATIBLE CREAMS

Here are the ingredients to avoid when buying cream: Petrolatum (petroleum jelly), Mineral oil, Cod liver oil, Paraffin and some waxes and clay (which can stain)

If you have a diaper that is stained or that has been in contact with a cream that has impaired its performance, wash the diaper with a detergent in hot water. You can then scrub the stain with dishwashing liquid and wash again with hot water to restore your diaper to its original state.

Important point

At all times, if you see that a rash is not healing, please consult a health professional. Some problems require treatment and professional consultation is necessary.

Crèmes Compatibles

Avant d’aller plus loin, je veux vous rassurer.


En cherchant un peu, il est possible de trouver beaucoup d’informations sur les couches lavables. Le but de ce texte est de vous éclairer et non pas de vous mélanger! Il se peut que bébé n’ait pas besoin de crème du tout, dans ce cas, je vous conseille de ne rien mettre du tout!

Par contre, certains enfants ont besoin d’une crème pour venir à bout de l’érythème fessier.

CRÈMES COMPATIBLES

argile blanche, fécule de mais, huile de noix de coco et liniment oléo-clacaire

CRÈMES COMPATIBLES AVEC ZINC

L’oxyde de zinc en petite quantité oui, mais avec un feuillet.

CRÈMES NON-COMPATIBLE

Petrolatum (vaseline), Huile minérale, Huile de foie de morue, Paraffine et certaines cires et argile (qui peuvent tacher)

CRÈMES COMPATIBLES

Argile blanche, fécule de mais, huile de noix de coco et liniment oléo-clacaire

Une crème «compatible» avec les couches lavables veut dire que celle-ci ne nuira pas à son absorption et à son efficacité. Certaines crèmes contiennent des ingrédients qui peuvent imperméabiliser les tissus et causer divers problèmes, notamment des problèmes d’odeurs. Vous trouverez une liste des crèmes recommandées au bas de ce texte. Comme notre liste n’est pas exhaustive, vu la quantité de crèmes disponibles sur le marché, nous désirons vous aider à faire des choix éclairés.

CRÈMES COMPATIBLES AVEC ZINC

L’oxyde de zinc en petite quantité oui, mais avec un feuillet.

L’oxyde de zinc crée une barrière contre l’humidité (tout comme l’huile de coco) et peut être très efficace contre l’érythème fessier. Par contre, puisque le zinc a tendance à tacher, il est nécessaire d’utiliser un feuillet pour vous assurer de protéger votre couche. De plus, une grande majorité de crèmes à base de zinc comporte aussi des ingrédients qui peuvent causer problème.

CRÈMES NON-COMPATIBLE

Voici les ingrédients à éviter lors de l’achat de crème: Petrolatum (vaseline), Huile minérale, Huile de foie de morue, Paraffine et certaines cires et argile (qui peuvent tacher)

Si vous avez une couche tachée ou qui a été en contact avec une crème qui aurait altéré sa performance, lavez la couche avec un détergent à l’eau chaude. Vous pouvez ensuite frotter la tache avec du liquide à vaisselle et refaire un lavage à l’eau chaude pour que votre couche retrouve son état d’origine.

Point important

En tout temps, si vous voyez que les rougeurs ne partent pas, veuillez consulter un professionnel de la santé. Certains problèmes nécessitent un traitement et la consultation d’un professionnel est nécessaire.