Cloth Diaper Care 101

1

Before first use

2

Storage

3

Washing

4

Drying

Before first use

We recommend washing the diapers and inserts twice before using them for the first time. This allows the fabric to gain maximum absorption and to get rid of the sewing threads that would have remained stuck during manufacturing.

Storage

Close the velcros on their flaps after use. Place soiled diapers in a laundry basket or a wet-bag for soiled diapers. Wash the diapers every 2-3 days. Do not soak or rinse diapers during this process as they should remain as dry as possible. If you rinse your diapers, you should hang them to air dry and wash them within the following 24 hours.

  • Note that it is not necessary to remove the inserts before washing our diapers; they will come out automatically due to the double opening pocket.
  • Do not soak the diapers. They must be kept dry.
  • A good storage solution should leave no odor.

Washing routine


A good washing routine will help your diapers stay odour free

Rinse with cold water

Helps get rid of any residue.

Regular wash cycle

Warm water cycle (40º) Do not put too much water in the washer. The diapers must rub against each other.

If you have hard water, do not rinse a second time; use a powder detergent instead.

Detergent

1. Does not contain fabric softener.

2. Do not use baby detergent, as it is not concentrated enough to properly wash the diapers.

Drying

We recommend using the dryer to dry the inserts, diapers and covers the vast majority of the time. This step tightens the threads and “reseals” the Polyurethane Laminate (PUL) that covers the outer fabric (the waterproof membrane). Be careful to not to manipulate them when they are hot and not to overdry them! You can also lay your diapers flat to dry.

You may occasionally hang your inserts and diapers outdoors to dry them since the sun is a whitening agent and has antibacterial properties but please note that hanging your diapers and covers outside can dry the rubber bands (elastics) and wear them out prematurely in which case the warranty is no longer applicable.


If you have any issues with leaks and odours, please refer to our Q&A section!

Entretien des couches lavables

1

Avant la 1ère utilisation

2

Entreposage

3

Lavage

4

Séchage

AVANT LA PREMIÈRE UTILISATION

Nous recommandons de laver 2 fois les couches et les inserts avant leur première utilisation. Ceci permet au tissu d’avoir une absorption maximale et de se débarrasser des fils de couture qui auraient collé à la fabrication.

ENTREPOSAGE

Bien refermer les velcros sur leurs rabats après l’utilisation. Placer les couches souillées dans un sceau (à sec) ou dans un sac pour couches souillées. Lavez les couches aux 2-3 jours. Il est important de ne pas rincer les couches avant de les entreposer et si vous devez rincer, étendez ensuite votre couche lavable ou faites un lavage dans les 24 heures.

  • Notez qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de retirer les inserts avant de les laver, ils sortiront d’eux-mêmes grâce à nos deux ouvertures.
  • Ne pas faire tremper les couches. Elles doivent être gardées à sec.
  • Un bon système de entreposage ne devrait pas laisser d’odeur

La routine de lavage


Une bonne routine vous permettra de ne pas avoir d'odeur.

Rinçage à l'eau froide

Cela permet de vous débarrasser de tout résidu de selles.

Cycle de lavage régulier

Cycle à l'eau tiède (40º) Ne pas mettre trop d’eau dans la laveuse. Les couches doivent pouvoir frotter les unes contre les autres.

Si votre eau est dure, ne pas faire de deuxième rinçage et utilisez un détergent en poudre.

Détergent

1. Le savon ne doit pas contenir d’assouplissant.

2. N’utilisez pas de détergent pour bébés qui ne sont pas assez concentrés pour bien laver les couches.

Séchage

Nous recommandons de sécher les inserts et les couches à la sécheuse la grande majorité du temps. Cette étape permet de resserrer les fils et de « receler » le polyuréthane qui recouvre votre tissu extérieur (membrane imperméable). Prenez soin de ne pas manipuler les couches lorsqu’elles sont chaudes et de ne pas les sursécher! Vous pouvez également sécher à plat vos couches.  

Il est possible d'étendre occasionnellement vos inserts et couches à l'extérieur puisque le soleil est un agent blanchissant et il possède également des propriétés antibactériennes, mais attention! Notez bien que d’étendre souvent les couches à l'extérieur fait sécher les élastiques et les use prématurément, annulant ainsi notre garantie


Si vous avez des problèmes d’odeur ou de fuites, référez-vous à notre section FAQ!